A Listening Posture

This is what’s in today’s reading of a little book called “Jesus Calling”. There’s a big fat exclamation mark beside the first paragraph – I am so glad I made notations like this during my deepest distress. Each one builds my confidence to keep listening for and trusting God in all that matters. And really, pretty much everything matters!

The Scriptures for today’s reading first:
Psalm 32:8, “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go, I will counsel you and watch over you.”
Gen. 1:1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.
Jesus Calling, October 27th by Sara Young:
As you become increasingly aware of My Presence, you will find it easier to discern the way you should go. This is one of the practical benefits of living close to Me. Instead of wondering about what is on the road ahead or worrying about what you should do if . . . or when . . . you can concentrate on staying in communication with Me. When you actually arrive at a choice point, I will show you which direction to go.
Many people are so preoccupied with future plans and decisions that they fail to see choices they need to make today. Without any conscious awareness, they make their habitual responses. People who live this way find a dullness creeping into their lives. They sleepwalk through their days, following well-worn paths of routine.
I, the Creator of the universe, am the most creative Being imaginable. I will not leave you circling in deeply rutted paths. Instead, I will lead you along fresh trails of adventure, revealing to you things you did not know. Stay in communication with Me. Follow my guiding Presence.

In the days following my husbands answer to ‘the question’ on the other side of the world, I was understandably whirling, reeling, and in utter disbelief. In one of those surreal moments I told God point blank and out loud, “I am a desperate woman. I’ve not been one of those ‘charismatic Christians’. I don’t know how to truly listen to you and obey what you tell me to do, but from now on that’s exactly what I’m going to do. I am going to have a posture of listening for and to YOU. YOU will have to figure out how to speak to me so I can hear, and YOU will have to protect me from listening to Satan who wants to destroy me, ______, our kids, and this marriage, I don’t trust my ability to listen to the right voice.”.
In that moment I became like a child who wanted to trust and obey their parent. I haven’t always been good at it, but my Parent is so patient and supportive of my decision to trust and obey. I know my Parent has a good goal in mind and knows better than I how to get there. My Parent is so creative in communication and I feel loved in being so known by the One who has created me.
I catch myself going back to deeply rutted paths of habitual responses, but my Parent reminds me of the adventures we’ve been on together and I grab hold once again. Adrenaline rushes can be addictive!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

